clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Williamson County leader chosen Tennessee’s 2016 Superintendent of the Year

Mike Looney
Mike Looney

Williamson County Schools Superintendent Mike Looney has been named 2016 Superintendent of the Year by the Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents.

Looney, who heads one of the state’s most affluent and academically high-performing districts, was honored Sunday at the organization’s conference in Gatlinburg.

Mike Looney
Mike Looney

Other 2016 nominees were:

  • Eddie Pruett, Gibson County Schools
  • Shawn Kimble, Lauderdale County Schools
  • Sandra Crouch, White County Schools
  • Bill Heath, Lawrence County Schools
  • Jerry Levengood, Rhea County Schools
  • Richard Bales, Johnson City Schools
  • Rob Britt, Blount County Schools

Picked by a seven-member panel of judges, Looney will represent Tennessee at the 2016 National Superintendent of the Year Awards, which will be announced in February.

Looney was tapped in August to lead Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools after a nationwide search, but opted to stay in Williamson County, just south of Nashville.

The 2015 Tennessee Superintendent of the Year was Wanda Shelton of Lincoln County Schools.

The COVID-19 outbreak is changing our daily reality

Chalkbeat is a nonprofit newsroom dedicated to providing the information families and educators need, but this kind of work isn't possible without your help.

Connect with your community

Find upcoming Tennessee events