Facebook Twitter
Pierre Jackson

Pierre Jackson

Two Tennessee teachers receive Presidential Award

Two Tennessee teachers are among 108 teachers nationally to receive the 2015 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Pierre Jackson teaches science at Middle College High School in Memphis for Shelby County Schools. Micahel Brown, a math teacher at Montgomery Central High School in Cunningham, works for Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools.

President Barack Obama named the recipients last week, according to a news release from the White House. Winners were selected by a panel of scientists, mathematicians and educators following an initial selection process at the state level. They will receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation, plus an invitation to Washington, D.C., for a ceremony later this summer.

Pierre Jackson

Pierre Jackson

Jackson’s award comes in his 18th year as an educator. He serves as the science department head and STEM coordinator at Middle College High School, as well as an instructor of biology and environmental science to freshmen and seniors.

Jackson has presented sessions at the district and state level on using student data to drive instruction, incorporating literacy into science, and using technology in the classroom.

“The Presidential Award means that my hard work has not gone unrecognized,” Jackson said. “It also causes me to reflect on all of the great teachers, school leaders, and students that have had an impact on me as a professional, as well as a person. No teacher becomes proficient in his or her craft without first being a learner.”

Brown has taught mathematics for the past 24 years and currently teaches Algebra II, Pre-Calculus and Calculus at Montgomery Central. He also serves as an at-risk program coordinator.

“The most exciting aspect of this award has been being able to meet and collaborate with the greatest mathematics and science teachers in this country,” Brown said. “I have the greatest students, and they deserve to hear the lessons I learn from these outstanding educators.”

A full list of the national winners can be found on the White House website.